Oh you, Sunscreens

I think you and I, and everyone know about how good sunscreen is and all that anti-aging and anti-cancer stuff. Yet, none of us bother because we’re all lazy bums, there’s really no other explanation. (Yeah, I’m just pulling everyone down to my level. I’m sure there are those who are good though… amongst us bums)

I remember reading some article ages ago and I believed it, I got alllll motivated and shit and it was advertising the ESP Insivisble Zinc Moisturiser with SPF 30+. It started off well and I used it once in a blue moon but there is seriously something wrong with this cream, man. Take a look at this:

It gets all lumpy and ugly and what you see above is me having tried to rub the damn thing in. Mind you, it’s not like it’s expired or anything. So while on paper it’s great, it’s a little bit of a poo when putting it on. In za bin it goes! It’s also not that cheap either.

It’s almost summer and I’m about to go on my le Melbourne trip so I need a goddamn sunscreen. Go Google, go! Google seems to tell me that one of the more popular options is the Clinique  City Block Sheer SPF 25. Looks gooooooooood but retails for $36 for 40ml. That’s a little pricey for a sunblock, but I still want. There’s just gotta be something else though.

Sheer, broad-spectrum UVA/UVB daily sunscreen. Lightweight formula helps wick away perspiration and absorb excess oil. Perfect alone or as an invisible makeup primer. No chemical sunscreens. Appropriate for eye area and sensitive skins.

Then I came across a comment on Temptalia’s blog by Kelly B who has been diagnosed with skin cancer. She mentioned two products that her dermatologist recommended her.

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry Touch Sunblock SPF 30 or SPF 45 ($12-14 Priceline)

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer® Dry-Touch Sunblock SPF 30 feels like you have nothing on, but offers broad-spectrum protection to help prevent sun damage. This dermatologist-tested formula uses Avobenzone to provide advanced protection against damaging UVA and UVB rays, along with Dry-Touch technology for an ultra-light, non-shiny finish. Fast-absorbing and waterproof, this non-oily formula is enriched with anti-oxidants to help skin fight the harm caused by environmental damage.

Josie Maran Argan Oil Daily Moisturizer with SPF 40 (A trip to the States or eBay I guess?)

Argan Oil Daily Moisturizer with SPF 40+ is your skins first defense against premature ageing. This natural formula physically blocks UVA rays that can cause up to 80% of premature ageing. It also blocks the harmful UVB rays we encounter on sunny days or at the beach. Unlike traditional sun blocks, this natural formula is infused with Josie’s signature ingredient, Argan Oil, which repairs and reverses damage caused by the sun, fights sign of ageing and improves skin tone for a radiant, renewed complexion. This sun block is extra mild and fast absorbing. It can also double as a great makeup primer. Argan Oil Daily Moisturizer with SPF 40+ is lightweight, Paba Free, and for all skin types. 2 fl oz./60 ml.

Anyway, I’m sold on both products but I don’t think I can grab a hold of Josie Maran. Neutrogena? Drugstore brand? Hell yeah! Priceline’s also having a 20% off sale for all makeup and skincare tomorrow and Wednesday so I’m going to take advantage of that.

You’ll hear about it soon enough I think. Which one do you use?

Do you even use sunscreen? Do you? DO YOU? Everyday? 365 days a year? Well you should.

8 thoughts on “Oh you, Sunscreens”

  1. omigosh ewww at invisible zinc, that’s gross!! i only use sunscreen in summer :S my facial moisturiser has spf… i guess that sort of counts right? lol

      1. I use the Aveeno Facial Moisturiser which has SPF 15. Currently trialling the Rimmel BB cream as well which as SPF 25. By their forces combined….

  2. I have used that invisible zinc and it looked NOTHING like that, something bad has happened to yours for sure! Even if you don’t have the bottle anymore that photo should be enough for you to ask for a refund or replacement, possibly with different products from their range if that has put you off (it would put me off!).

    1. Yeah, I’ve used one of those bottles a while ago and it wasn’t really like that.

      But then the second bottle was new. My sister’s also experienced the same thing with hers. It’s one of those things where you have to use it right after it’s manufactured. It’s a bit worrying that it turns into crap shortly after. 😐

  3. I’m currently using that Neutrogena one…and I love it, hope you do too! It’s not sticky at all and feels very light on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

