Review: Bobbi Brown Corrector (and Concealer)

Ah super dry under eye and super dark eye circles… my faaaaavourite~ /sarcasm

Finding a hydrating concealer is pretty wtf for me and it’s also the most important makeup item that I need – thanks to panda eyes. I’ve been to a few counters to try their concealers or brighteners to find they’re mostly shit at covering, do nothing and/or way too dry and cakey on me. Dior, YSL’s Touche something, none of them.

Bobbi Brown Corrector (Light Bisque) and Creamy Concealer (Ivory, Pale Yellow)

Bobbi Brown’s corrector ($46) and concealer though… it’s not holy grail, but more holy shit-it-works. I love the corrector and it’s the only thing I use nowadays, you can see I’ve used a lot more of that than the concealer.

The corrector, which is peach or pink based is meant to neutralize the purples and blues and while the concealer, which is yellow-based is meant to conceal. I find the corrector is creamier than the concealer, or because I am so dry, putting on two layers immediately has the flakey effect. Either way, I don’t need it to completely cover my dark circles, I just need it to reduce a lot of it and it does exactly that. I can still see some dryness sometimes, but it’s very minimal compared to everything else. The downside to this is I find it doesn’t really last the whole day.

Here’s my ninja sample I took this morning – right eye wearing Bobbi Brown. Gotta say the iPhone is making it look better than irl though… ho ho ho, but you get the gist.

20121019-152551.jpg
Left eye – Nothing vs Right eye – Bobbi Brown Corrector

I like to put it on using the Bobbi Brown concealer brush and then patting it in with my ring finger after I’ve moisturised my eyes (still using that emu oil eye cream, oh yeah!) and then a bit of Laura Mercier’s Translucent Loose Setting Powder and I’m good to go. If you don’t have super dry eyes like me, applying the concealer as well will probably be even better but alas I don’t need it unless I really look like I’ve been punched in the eye.

As another comparison, Bareminerals recently released their own correcting concealer and ‘stroke of light’ eye brightener. I used to be a Bareminerals fan so immediately went to try it out, I mean, it’s half the price. But to my disappointment, it was dry and dry. The more brands I try, the more I like my Bobbi Brown, but I can’t stop trying either… I want that HG concealer goddamnit and I’ve now discovered this Ellis Faas concealer that everyone seems to love as well… well then…hmm

This and lip color, and I have the Revlon Kissable! that I will review later, are the only things I tend to wear these days when I can be bothered. I look alive and awake and don’t have people from work telling me to wake up. Ha!

What’s your fave concealer? šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Review: Bobbi Brown Corrector (and Concealer)”

  1. I can definitely see a difference between your eyes. Your dark circles aren’t too bad to begin with anyway šŸ˜› You’re so lucky!

    1. lol thanks, you’re probably the first one to say it’s not that bad. But that’s also why I say it’s the iPhone making things a bit better than it really is. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

