Seeing a chiropractor

I can’t believe I haven’t been taking advantage of all my health insurance’s benefits. You know, the remedial massage, physio, chiro… all those extras. I’ve started using it this year, but only because I’ve had a crapload of issues with my body.

But anyway, I’ve never seen a chiropractor before and only now that I’m desperate because of my lower back pain and neck pain that I decided I need professional care and not some temporary relief from massages. Had my first consultation and adjustments yesterday. I’m not sure what I expected, but I didn’t expect it. Those adjustments, holy crap it scared the shit out of me. My spine isn’t straight, and I’m not standing straight, nothing seems to be straight these days. So these ‘adjustments’ are meant to help get me back into shape.

Doc: “Wow, this (middle of my back) is like a rock, okay breathe in… and out *CRAAAAAAAAAAAAAACCCCCCCCCCCCCCCK*”

My mind:

In reality, I started laughing. Anyway, the doc went ahead and cracked a few more things. Asked me how I felt. “Dizzy.” And I was. I was underwhelmed and overwhelmed. Overwhelmed from those cracks and underwhelmed because I felt the same and my back was still aching. I was so dazed, I just kept nodding.

Post one night now and I AM FEELING AWESOME. MY BACK PAIN… actually I should have told you upfront that I was experiencing some pretty terrible back pains, BUT now it’s gone, as in no more pains!? Magic.

I encourage everyone to review their private health insurance benefits and TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THEM. I mean, who doesn’t want a nice massage once in a while? And with online services these days, they’re friggin easy to claim.

7 thoughts on “Seeing a chiropractor”

  1. I discovered the chiro about 2 years ago after 24 years of constant lower back and neck pain. I’d resigned myself to headaches for life (on average one every few days) and migraines as well. The first 1.5 years of going to the chiro I was headache-free and only recently have they crept back in because I changed jobs and got a new desk which wasn’t adjusted to my height. Great to hear you’ve discovered a chiro as well!!

    1. I know! Everything seems so much better. But having said that, I went through a year of really terrible headaches and backpain as well and the root cause was actually my bed. So you might want to take a look at that too!

    2. It was one of those cheap and crap ones where the entire bed would sink a little with a bit of weight pressure. I hadn’t realised it was the bed until mom gave me this extra bed layer and voila, headaches and pain gone. Newer and more advanced beds would accommodate your body a lot better and only sink in where necessary to make sure your spine and body is aligned. So I ended up splurging. Pillow is important as well of course, which I have found needs to work together with the kind of bed you have too.

  2. I’ve quite enjoyed your blog so far, keep up the good work! I also have excema, so your post on that was helpful too, I dare not go to the beach cause of it.. but I think you’re about resisting the urge to scratch and keeping nails short and clean

Leave a Reply

