Expected review: Ippudo Sydney

Ippudo Sydney

Ippudo Sydney at Westfield Level 5

Famous global ramen place that I had previously not heard of, Ippudo Sydney, landed in Westfield’s food court last week.

I’m a loyal Ichiban Boshi customer and often go for their $13 ramen or cold noodles. I wouldn’t call their ramen authentic, but it’s certainly very tasty in its own way.

Gumshara I’ve only been twice. And it’s authentic ramen alright. I sort of like that place too, sort of because I was really impressed with it first go, but not so much second. So 50/50? It’s also at a ridiculous price of $14.

And then Ippudo, at an average $17 per bowl. Big double u tee eff.

Ippudo Sydney ramen

Shiromaru Motoaji and Akamaru Shinaji

So here it is, the picture on top is the Shiromaru Motoaji, their┬ámost simplistic and classic version with no added extra for $15. The soup. The soup was awesome. The noodles were too soft. And the two pieces of pork were shit. At $15, all three should have been awesome, not one. But alas, the soup, so tasty that I went back for more next day, but take away because its two bucks cheaper. I can live with $13, but not $15 with shit pork. So I’m paying purely for the soup. What has the world come to.
Also, I asked for hard noodles, which I found better but not by a lot. And they gave me one piece of rough and hard pork for takeaway too. I assume if you pay $4 extra for pork belly that the pork might actually be good. But hey, $4.

The second picture that most of my friends ordered is the Akamaru Shinaji ($18 with an egg), I had a taste and found it to be more salty so didn’t like for me.

If you’re wondering about size, they’re pretty small bowls. But it will fill you up or otherwise you should be satisfied because any more and you may get sick of that super flavoursome soup. A bit at a time.

Ippudo Sydney

Pork Buns and fresh garlic

Pork buns were nice at $4 each. I wouldn’t mind having another one, but no takeaway at this point, so guess I won’t be having that in forever.

I think they called their ramen modern, authentic but modern. I’m not sure what’s so modern about it, maybe the cabbage? That weird cabbage.

And so, despite all the negativity that seems to be sprouting all over this post, I’m addicted to the soup. And what’s more? I think I’ll say goodbye to Gumshara because I prefer Ippudo as the authentic ramen place. I still love you Ichiban Boshi, you’re different.

Ippudo Sydney

Shiromaru Motoaji takeaway

And correct me if I’m wrong, but Motoaji means the taste before (classic)?? Pretty neat.

Ippudo on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

